A Construction Themed Birthday!

I can’t believe that it has happened! My little man has turned 3. He is definitely more of a young man now than a baby. We can have full out conversations with him, he tells jokes, goes to the bathroom all by himself, gets himself snacks and sometimes will even admit to being “Bold” and put himself in time out. It seems like yesterday that we were bringing our little 5lb peanut home from the hospital. At the time, Matt and I knew that we would learn a lot from our son, but little did we know that we would soon learn how fast time flies and how much “change” can happen in a year, let alone 3.

Early on, Matt and I decided that we would do a big party for Jacks, every other year until he was of school age. We of course threw a party when he turned one and although Jacks turning one was a big milestone for him, I believe the party was just as much in celebration of Matt and I surviving our first year as parents. That year, we used the theme “Our little Jacks-O-Lantern is turning One” as Jacks really didn’t have many interests that he was drawn too, other than the typical baby things.

This year was a different story! Jacks started to show interest in Construction equipment around 18 months and from there on out we could pretty much say it has become a passion of his. Quite often when Matt or I make a request of Jacks, our request has been met with the response of “One more minute, I am working!” There-fore, soon after his 2nd birthday I began planning and thinking of ideas for a construction themed party. I had a blast putting together this party and of course it helped being that it was for my own little man!

IMG_6784

When the big day arrived, Matt turned our yard into a construction site. My father’s company lent us the use of several construction signs, road cones and barrels, as well as some barricades. We scattered 3 dozen yellow, orange and black balloons around the yard and even had my brother park his Skid Steer in the front yard.

Uncle Mark, Uncle John and Aunt Heather surprised Jacks with an 8’x8’ sandbox for his birthday. It was the hit of the party. I don’t think the box was unoccupied all night, with the exception of the pinata and cake-time. Our good friends Tom and Christine had purchased Jacks a sit-on Excavator, for his birthday, the perfect addition to his sandbox.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

    To add to the festivities I made Jacks a t-shirt with an excavator on it and in the scoop was the number 3.

SONY DSC

Each guest was provided a hard hat and work apron upon arrival and we placed a tool box filled with cold juice boxes on a work bench near the sandbox to keep our little workers hydrated!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

For favors, I bought a bunch of yellow beach pails with shovels and filled them with some construction themed items, such as a small construction truck and “dirt” (brown Playdough), orange bubbles, goldfish, and a canvas tool belt stuffed with “tools”, which were actually frosted sugar cookies.

IMG_6782

SONY DSC

I also put together a Dump Truck Painting, similar to that of my Fingerprint Trees, where Jacks’ guests use their fingerprints to fill the bed of the truck with “dirt”. It is so cute to see all the prints left by the little ones! This is a great memory piece.

SONY DSC

IMG_6786

My husband politely reminded me that he, as well as many others, do not like cake (wierdos!!!), so I made some extra tool cookies and some double chocolate brownies to add to the dessert selection. A friend of mine’s mother helped me by making the cake. We used the same mini construction trucks that I used in the favors to top it and then she of course put her talents to use in decorating it. Check out the chocolate gravel that I found. (I love Hobby Lobby) I was even able to find some construction cone candles. Jacks has a very large collection of Construction Vehicles, and he claims that he NEEDS all of them. They came in handy for decorating purposes, as we used them all over the house and yard. A big thank you to all of you who bought him more constructions trucks as presents…the kid is in his glory and our couch and love seat have become a permanent “Construction Site” for “Working”…no sitting allowed!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I was also able to find a Bulldozer Pinata!!! It was so much fun to watch the little ones try to wack that thing open.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

We ended up with a beautiful day of weather and Jacks was so very lucky to have so many of his/our close family and friends come celebrate with us.Amongst the party goers were both sets of my Grandparents. Jacks is so very fortunate to not only have two sets of Great Grandparents but that both sets are very involved in his life! At one point I looked across the yard to find my mom’s mother adorned with safety goggles playing in the sandbox with Jacks. I cannot tell you how happy that site made me!

SONY DSC

 Talking about smiles, my kid was all smiles pretty much the whole time and that told me that although I may have gone a little overboard with the planning, it was all worth it in the end. I think it is safe to say that all of our guests, especially the kids had a “ton of fun”.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Construction Themed Birthday!

  1. Tom & Lissa says:

    What a day! Happy birthday to Jacks!

  2. Christine says:

    It was a great party! Every detail was amazing!

Leave a Reply

